CCP Logo Chevy Chase Players

The Ruby Griffith Award

The Ruby Grifith Awards are sponsored by the British Players, in association with the British Embassy. The Competition, named in memory of a former British Players producer, is designed to elevate the quality of local amateur theatre and reward excellence and outstanding achievement.

Over the years the players have been fortunate to receive the following Ruby Griffith Awards:

2007 - Second Runner-Up Outstanding Achievement in a Play - Wait Until Dark

1996 - Outstanding Achievement in a Play - Talking Pictures

1990 - Second Runner-Up All Round Excellence - Side by Side by Sondheim

More about the Ruby Griffith Awards


Washington Area Theatre Community Honors

The Washington Area Theatre Community Honors (WATCH) is an organization founded for the adjudication and presentation of annual awards recognizing artistic and technical excellence in community theatre throughout the metropolitan Washington, D.C. area, and that these honors will:

Foster and encourage the growth of community theater;

Promote and enhance the image of community theater; and

Educate and inform the general public about the theatrical opportunities provided by the member theaters.

More about the WATCH Awards

2007 Nomination
Nomination: Outstanding Stage Combat Choreography - David Dieudonne for Wait Until Dark

The Chevy Chase Players joined WATCH at the begining of 2005 and in our first year of eligibility our production of "Death of a Salesman" received a major award and two additional nominations.

2005 Awards and Nominations
Award: Outstanding lead actress in a play - Leah Mazade as "Linda Lowman"
Nomination: Outstanding cameo in a play - Brian Crane as "Howard"
Nomination: Outstanding cameo in a play - Kathie Mack as "The Woman"

The Official Chevy Chase Players web site is hosted by